Compressing Reality http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/index.php The blog of Thomas Redding Thu, 23 Feb 2017 The Truth is Not Enough http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/the-truth-is-not-enough.php Why true statistics aren’t enough: distinguishing the baby from the bath water. Thu, 23 Feb 2017 Bayes’ Theorem: The Root of All Reasoning http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/bayes-theorem.php An arithmetic-only explanation of probabilistic reasoning and its applications to critical thinking. Thu, 23 Feb 2017 Campus Culture: Why Can’t We All Get Along? http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/campus-culture.php A reflection of why political correctness, content warnings, and safe spaces remain so controversial. Fri, 23 Dec 2016 Summary of Exercise Research http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/exercise-summary.php A guide of research on physical activity and how to use it. Wed, 31 Aug 2016 The Rat Race Explained: Income as an Externality http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/income-externality.php A brief examination of your income's impact on your neighbors. Wed, 24 Aug 2016 Nudging People Towards Health http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/nudging-people-towards-health.php A look at extending the idea of externalities to partially include impacts on future you. Mon, 22 Aug 2016 Gun Control: An Extensive Analysis http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/gun-control.php An evidence-based analysis of the effect of guns on deaths. Wed, 20 Jul 2016 Demographic Utility Comparison and Suicide http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/demographic-utility-comparison-and-suicide.php An attempt to understand the utility of populations using statistics. Sat, 18 Jun 2016 Meta-Analysis of the Impact of Fiscal Policies on Long-Run GrowthPCA http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/meta-analysis-of-the-impact-of-fiscal-policies-on-long-run-growth.php A boring summary of a meta-analysis on how government spending affects long-run economic growth. Thu, 26 May 2016 Political PCA http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/political-beliefs-pca.php A statistical examination of political classifications. Tue, 26 Apr 2016 Should You Vote? http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/should-you-vote.php A brief theoretical and empirical analysis of voting. Tue, 29 Mar 2016 Stats and Chess http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/stats-and-chess.php Statistical analysis of the features of thousands of chess games. Thu, 31 Dec 2015 Conservative Moral Extensions http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/conservative-moral-extensions.php An argument for the decoupling of morality from reality. Wed, 23 Dec 2015 Marxism and the Great Divergence http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/marxism-and-the-great-divergence.php Does income derived from the owernship of capital explain growing income inequality? Sat, 19 Dec 2015 Economic Flows Chart http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/economic-flows.php A chart of the flows of money in the United States Mon, 14 Dec 2015 Echo Chambers http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/echo-chambers.php Evidence for and an argument against echo chambers Fri, 11 Dec 2015 Just Another Blog http://thomasredding.nfshost.com/blog/posts/just-another-blog.php An introduction and the philosophy of Compressing Reality. Thu, 10 Dec 2015